The Origin And A Brief History of the English Premier League

The Premier League or as it is known internationally the English Premier League is a league of top English football clubs. It is the topmost congregation of professional football clubs from the UK, which compete in this league for the crown of the English Champions. The Premier League is one of the highest ranking leagues in the records with the Union of European Football Associations or the UEFA. The League has its origins in the Football League which was the primary competition league that regulated the competition between football clubs in England for over 100 years.

The Premier league was created on the 27th of May in 1992, by the dissociation of the members of the Football League. The Football League was created in 1888, to organize the haphazard competition among the many soccer clubs of England. The idea to form such an organization was introduced by the then director of the Aston Villa FC, William McGregor. This led to the formation of the Football League with four divisions, which equally distributed all the clubs in the country, these divisions were the Championship, League One, League Two and League Three, in its final form before 1992. The competition in the Football League was regulated using the promotion and relegation system between the consecutive divisions.

In 1992 the clubs in the First Division of the Football League, left to form a separate league that was first named the FA Premier League. This name was later replaced by the Premier League in 2007. The move for forming another league of clubs was prompted by the financial dire straits of the Football League during the 80s and the inviting opportunities of the television broadcasting rights.

The First Division consisted of a total twenty-two clubs that founded the Premier League initially but later the two lowest (Notts County and Luton Town) placed teams were demoted to the new Division One of the Football League. This left the League with the teams of Aston Villa, Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Chelsea, Everton, Ipswich Town, Liverpool, Leeds United, Manchester United, Middlesbrough, Manchester City, Nottingham Forest, Norwich City, Queens Park Rangers, Oldham Athletic, Sheffield Wednesday, Sheffield United, Tottenham Hotspur, Southampton, and Wimbledon.

Then in 1995 the International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) directed all the major leagues to reduce the number of matches on the domestic level and as a result the number to teams in the Premier League was reduced to 20. Manchester United has held the Premier League trophy for most number of seasons amounting to a total of 12, from 1992 to 2012. The teams of Aston Villa, Everton and Tottenham Hotspur along with the Big Four, Arsenal, Chelsea Liverpool and Manchester United, have been a part of the Premier League from the year of its formation to the current season.

Share This:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *