Participation and Performance of BMW in Motorsport

BMW is not just into the production of the automobiles and motorcycles, but it takes active participation in motorsports too. Since the time the first motorcycle was designed by BMW, the company is participating in motorsports in 1923.

BMW sponsors a number of motorsports. Formula BMW and Kumho BMW championship deserves special mention. Formula BMW is a junior racing formula category and Kumho BMW championship is an exclusive championship run by BMW in the United Kingdom. Several motorcycles from BMW also won different accolades among which “Isle of Man TT – George ‘Schorsch’ Meier won the Grand Prix in the year 1939. BMW also won “Dakar Rally” almost six times in the years 1981, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1999 and 2000. In the year 2009, BMW came with premier road racing with their brand new BMW S 1000RR, which won them Superbike World Championship.

In the Formula One Championship, BMW has always maintained a history of success since the introduction of BMW in the Formula One. BMW powered cars have won over 20 races. In the year 2006, BMW took over the “Sauber” team and became the Formula One constructors. Both the years 2007 and 2008 were immensely successful for BMW in Formula One car racing. BMW Sauber F1 team won various achievements including Driver championship, Grand Prix, Podium finishes, Pole positions, Fastest laps and won the runners up for constructor championship for the year 2002, 2003 and 2007.

BMW was an engine supplier to Williams, Brabham, Benetton and Arrows. There are many successful drivers who have started their Formula one career with BMW cars and got immense success. Drivers such as Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, and Robert Kubica are of special mention.  Although due to some of the internal issues, BMW decided to sell back the team to its previous owner, Peter Sauber by the end of 2009.

The sports car from BMW also won several accolades and awards over the years. Awards such as “Le Mans 24 hours” in the year 1999 with BMW V12 LMR designed by Williams Grand Prix Engineering. Nürburgring award was won by BMW for 18 times. BMW won 24 hours of Daytona for two times in the years 1976 and 2011. BMW won Spa 24 hour’s award for almost about 21 times.  BMW McLaren F1 GTR won BPR Global GT Series in 1995 and 1996. BMW also won three GT team Championships and GT automobile manufacturer titles.

BMW also has a long and successful history in touring car racing. Even in touring car race, BMW won several awards including world touring car championship, British touring car championship, Japanese touring car championship and many others.

Share This:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *